Some users of Google’s service, “Download your data”, were exposed to an annoying situation caused by the service, where one or more of their private videos were sent to “unrelated users”, according to the American company announced in emails sent to Affected.
Chief Technology Officer of Dew Security, John Overhead, said in a tweet on Twitter, that he had received an email from Google warning that his data might have been exposed after he used his service “Download your data.”
The service provides an option for users to download their data stored in their servers to their personal computers.
Google says that anyone using this service between November 21 and 25 last November may have received videos from other users in the archive file is received, and “one or more” of its videos may have been sent to other users.
“Unfortunately, during this time, some of the videos in Google Photos (Google Images) were mistakenly exported to an archive of users unrelated to you. One or more videos in your Google Account account were damaged.”But what Google has not stated in its message is the number of people who may have been affected by this severe flaw in its service, or the number of private videos that have been shared with strangers.